Skipping Sprint Planning 1 – an idea I need to think about!

I am not sure how to interprete your words. Do you mean that the sprint backlog is no longer fixed?

Because that is how we implemented continous flow with some more experienced scrum teams, or with teams using scrum for non-software development.

We used 3 week sprints but dropped the planningmeeting. Instead of one planningmeeting, the PO was coninously planning and asking the team for etimates. He was driven by how fast the team finished ongoing work.

We kept the sprints for having a heartbeat, and to have demo’s of the finished stuff and a retrospective on regular times. Worked well!   Jef Cumps

A comment about my Blog entry “The Toyota Production System and Scrum (2)” that puzzles me. It looks cool but on the other side: How do you get the commitment from the team? Just based on the velocity? Do you still care about the idea that every Sprint is a mission. Don’t get me wrong – it works for you. Great! Keep doing it … tell us more about the real story, please.  

 

2 responses to “Skipping Sprint Planning 1 – an idea I need to think about!

  1. Wolfgang Wiedenroth

    Hi,

    first it sounded interesting to me, too, but thinking about it a bit more I don’t like the idea.
    Nevertheless I would like to hear more about it. Two things I worry about most

    1. “the PO was continously planning and asking the team for etimates”

    Sounds to me the team can’t fully focus on the actual story, because there is always something they have to think beside or something is coming in. I prefer one or two estimation meetings. These meetings are fixed so the team knows what day(s) in the sprint the PO needs there attention, is able to calculate the time they got for Sprint Backlog Items much better and focus 100% of the time.

    2. We kept the sprints for having a heartbeat, and to have demo’s of the finished stuff and a retrospective on regular times.

    Although a heartbeat runs on and on it is still something finite.
    Start -BEAT- End/Start -BEAT- End/Start

    I hope you understand what I mean.
    Because they might be a story the team is working on there is no “End” doing the review and retro. Therefore I don’t get what you refer on in the retro and how you adjust your process, if the team is still working on a story. In my opinion you can’t change the rules, while you are in the game.

    Your process sounds to me like a production line with no end and no time for your team to take a breath and review. Therefore your process lacks important parts of scrum.

    Regards Wolfgang

  2. Sounds like this team is using the XP framework, not scrum….
    Customer [PO] is permanently collocated with team; team chooses and works on one story until completed; free members estimate new stories as they have time; iteration length is still fixed.

    For my money Scrum offers more opportunity for self-organisation by teams.

Leave a Reply

